University of Aberdeen

The university, Scotland's third oldest and the UK's fifth oldest university, was founded in 1495 by William Elphinstone, Bishop of Aberdeen and Chancellor of Scotland. Bishop Elphinstone established King's College to train doctors, teachers and clergy for service in northern Scotland, and lawyers and administrators to serve the Scottish Crown.

University of Edinburgh

The University of Edinburgh was established by a Royal Charter granted by James VI in 1582. The funding for the university was provided by the Edinburgh Town Council.

University of Glasgow

In 1451, the Scottish King James II persuaded Pope Nicholas V to grant a bull authorizing Bishop Turnbull of Glasgow to establish a university. Modeled on the University of Bologna, Glasgow was, and has remained, a university in the great European tradition.

University of St. Andrews

Founded in 1413, St. Andrews is the oldest university in Scotland. By the middle of the sixteenth century the University had three colleges—St Savator's (1450), St Leonard's (1511) and St Mary's (1538).