Gifford Lectures
Help | Site Map | About Us | Contact Usspacer

Any Word




  What’s New

2014 Gifford Lecture Series: University of Edinburgh

What is Caesar’s? Adjudicating Faith in Modern Constitutional Democracies to be held on Monday 19 May 2014. [More…]

2014 Gifford Lecture Series: University of Glasgow

Givenness and Revelation begins Tuesday 20 May 2014. [More…]

YouTube Channel

Gifford Lectures now has a YouTube Channel! [More…]


A new Gifford Lectures page for St. Andrews. [More…]

Eight Books Based on Gifford Lectures

Eight books derived from the Gifford lectures are available. [More…]


  Follow Us On

Facebook Twitter YouTube


Gregory Vlastos

1907 - 1991

Stuart Professor Emeritus of Philosophy, Princeton University



Gregory Vlastos was born on 27 July 1907 in Istanbul. He studied philosophy at Robert College in Istanbul before earning his PhD from Harvard in 1931. He taught for a number of years at Queenís University in Ontario before moving to a post at Cornell University in 1948. He spent some time around 1938 as a visiting scholar at Cambridge, where he met Professor Cornford, which his introduction to Socrates: Ironist and Moral Philosopher mentions as a pivotal moment in the development of his thought and career.
In 1955, he was appointed Stuart Professor of Philosophy at Princeton, where he remained until his retirement in 1976. According to his own account, retirement began one of the most fruitful periods of Vlastosís scholarly activity. He held the post of Mills Professor of Philosophy at the University of Berkeley from 1976 to 1987, as well as being a Distinguished Professorial Fellow at Christís College, Cambridge, from 1983 to 1984. He gave a lecture series at the University of Toronto in 1978, the Townsend lectures at Cornell University in 1986, and the Gifford Lectures at the University of St Andrews in 1981.
The last years of his life were spent revising large volumes of material for publication, including his Gifford Lectures. Sadly, he died before this work could be completed, on 12 October 1991. He held a MacArthur Fellowship at the time of his death.
His publications include The Philosophy of Socrates (1970), Platonic Studies (1973), Plato's Universe (1975).
Alana Howard
University of Glasgow
Templeton Press